Taco Bowtie Soup

This morning, I splurged with an iced nonfat, sugar-free, iced vanilla latte from Peet’s Coffee.  It was soooooooooo good.  And, the best part is that it was FREE (my favorite price)!  When I worked at the Race for the Cure a few weeks ago, I got a coupon for a complimentary medium beverage of my choice.

After seeing Courtney’s recipe for “Scrumptious Slow Cooker Chili” on Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life, I was inspired to make my own version of her tasty looking recipe.  Since I have tomatoes coming out of my ears, this was a perfect way for me to incorporate some lycopene into tonight’s dinner. 

Ingredients for Taco Bowtie Soup:

-1 pound of ground beef , soy “beef”, OR ground turkey

-1 can of kidney beans (I used 1 cup of uncooked beans that I boiled separately and later added).

-1 can of corn (I used an ear of corn that I had in the freezer)

-2 bottles of beer

-1 chopped green pepper

-1 cup salsa

-8 medium chopped tomatoes (or 1 can of diced tomatoes)

-1 cup of bowtie pasta

-2 tablespoons of garlic

-1 teaspoon powdered garlic

-3 teaspoons chili powder

-1 teaspoon paprika

-1 teaspoon cumin

-1 teaspoon salt

-splash of hot sauce

-a dash of taco seasoning

Throw all ingredients, except for pasta, into crock pot and set to “low”.  Cook pasta separately, and add to crock pot a few minutes before serving.

This recipe makes a lot of food, which is great, because I will put it into individual plastic containers and freeze.

I also made some baked tortilla chips.  I just took some corn tortillas, sliced them like a pizza, coated them with Pam and some salt, and baked them for about 10-15 minutes.

And of course, my meal is not complete unless I have my VEGETABLES!

On a different note, I’ve decided that I’d like to own a pair of these boots.  They look comfortable and can be worn three different ways: slouched, over the knee, or below the knee (with the top folded down).  Now, I just need to decide if I want them in tan or black.  Choices, choices!  What’s a girl to do?

B. Makowsky Natalie Boots

Question:  What is your favorite soup recipe?

3 Responses to “Taco Bowtie Soup”

  1. Yumm! Love your spin on the recipe…may have to try this one! :)

  2. I ate the Taco Bowtie Soup and can attest to its deliciousness. The oatmeal blob dessert, however, gave me the shits.

    • I happen to like the oatmeal blob. This “blob” was your idea, you know! If I recall correctly, you forced me to make a “log” and put it in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

